The Senate is one of the most important University governance bodies. It is elected every five years and has legislative power. Its decisions are obligatory to all units of the University, employees and study subjects.

Senate members include:

  • Faculty representatives (elected in every faculty, in the common meeting of academic faculty staff);
  • Student representatives (elected by the Students' Union).

At the present, there are 40 members in the Senate, including 8 student members.

The functions of the Senate are to:

  • Set the general principles for study organization;
  • Confirm the rules of University enrolment and approve the number of students and the staff;
  • Approve lists of subjects;
  • Outline areas of research;
  • Appoint committee members for doctoral studies and habilitation, rules for teaching staff attestation and competition organization;
  • Confer titles of Honorary Doctor and Maecenas.

The draft proposals that are presented for discussion at the Senate meetings are initiated and finally approved by three Senate Committees:


The Quality Assurance Committee

1. Prof. Dr. Renaldas Čiužas, Chairperson
2. Assoc. Prof. Dr. Alvyra Galkienė
3. Greta Mikėnaitė (students’ representative)
4. Justinas Monkevičius (students’ representative)
5. Regina Nojikienė
6. Prof. Dr. Vytautas Navickas
7. Prof. Dr. Remigijus Noreika
8. Prof. Dr. Rūtenis Paulauskas
9. Assoc. Prof. Dr. Algimantas Šventickas
10. Prof. Dr. Ilona Vaškevičiūtė
11. Tomas Zalatoris (students’ representative)
12. Prof. Dr. Dainius Vaitiekūnas
13. Prof. Dr. Audronius Vilkas


The Research Committee

1. Prof. Dr. Sigutė Radzevičienė, Chairperson
2. Prof. Dr. Habil. Antanas Buračas
3. Prof. Dr. Aušra Daugirdienė
4. Prof. Dr. Reda Pabarčienė
5. Prof. Dr. Aivas Ragauskas
6. Assoc. Prof. Dr. Emilija Sakadolskis
7. Prof. Dr. Linas Selmistraitis
8. Prof. Dr. Juozas Skirius
9. Agnė Vabalaitė (students’ representative)
10. Prof. Dr. Habil. Piotr Vasiljev
11. Prof. Dr. Irena Zaleskienė

The Study Committee

1. Assoc. Prof. Dr. Stasė Ustilaitė, Chairperson
2. Karolina Bakanauskaitė (students’ representative)
3. Assoc. Prof. Dr. Jurga Cibulskienė
4. Assoc. Prof. Dr. Liutauras Degėsys
5. Žygintas Dovydėnas (students’ representative)
6. Ineta Januševskaja (students’ representative)
7. Gabrielė Kestenytė (students’ representative)
8. Assoc. Prof. Dr. Žydronė Kolevinskienė
9. Prof. Dr. Giedrė Kvieskienė
10. Assoc. Prof. Dr. Rasa Matonienė
11. Prof. Dr. Ona Monkevičienė
12. Prof. Dr. Sniegina Poteliūnienė
13. Prof. dr. Vida Pukienė
14. Prof. dr. Vilija Salienė
15. Prof. dr. Virginijus Sruoga

Updated on: 2017-09-13 19:55