Faculty of Philology

The faculty was established in 1944 as the Faculty of Russian and Foreign Languages. In 1949 the faculty was split into two – Faculty of Foreign Languages and Faculty of Russian Language and Literature. In 1990-1991 several Slavonic departments joined the Faculty of Russian Language and Literature and consequently the faculty was renamed to the Faculty of Slavonic Studies. In 2009 under the decision of the Senate, the Foreign Language and Slavonic Studies faculties were merged into one – Faculty of Philology, headed by Prof. Dr. Gintautas Kundrotas. The Faculty of Philology became one of the biggest faculties in the university. With the joint capabilities of both previous faculties’ departments, and staff, the pedagogical and research potential could grow significantly and ensure optimal preparation of specialists.

Our mission is to provide a high quality university education and to train English, French, German, Russian, and Polish language professionals who are able to work effectively in Lithuanian and foreign educational establishments and to adapt flexibly to the continually changing conditions of today’s market. We aim to deliver proper standards of higher education by carrying out fundamental and applied scientific research. We also take part in the process of continuous development and retraining of language teachers in order to provide Lithuanian citizens with opportunities of lifelong learning as well as make an impact on language teaching in the secondary and tertiary sectors of education.


Our vision of the faculty is that of a modern, well-equipped centre of studies and science with an optimum organisational structure that offers teacher training programmes; carries out academic research relevant to the needs of other Lithuanian researchers in higher education as well as teachers; cooperates with European and other foreign universities and puts a lot of effort into spreading the knowledge, skills and competences gained.

The faculty cooperates with these institutions: Belarusian State Pedagogical University named after M. Tank (Belarus), University of Ostrava (Czech Republic), University of Saragosa (Spain), Abai Kazakh National Pedagogical University (Kazakhstan), Pedagogical University of Cracow (Poland), University of Warsaw (Poland), University of Wroclaw (Poland), Moscow Pedagogical State University (Russia), Dumlupınar University (Turkey), Fatih University (Turkey), Eszterházy Károly College (Hungary), University of Erfurt (Germany) and Heidelberg University of Education (Germany).


The faculty invites prospective (local as well as foreign) students to study English Philology. Please read more information here.


The faculty also invites prospective (local as well as foreign) students to study Russian Philology. Please read more information here.


Departments and other divisions

Department of English Philology

Department of English Didactics

Department of French Philology and Didactics

Department of Russian Philology and Intercultural Communication

Department of German Philology and Didactics

Belarusian Language, Literature and Ethnic Culture Centre

Polish Language, Culture Study and Didactics Centre

Russian Language and Culture Study Centre

Turkish Language and Culture Study Centre

German Language and Culture Study Centre

Intercultural Communication Centre

Linguistic and Didactic Research Laboratory

Information Resource Center

Offered Undergraduate study programmes

English Philology
Polish Philology
French Philology
Pedagogy of Russian Philology and Intercultural Communication
German Philology

English Philology and Another Foreign (French/German/Russian) Language

Pedagogy of English and Another Foreign (French/German/Russian) Language

Offered Master study programmes

English Philology
Applied Linguistics and Intercultural Communication

Offered doctorate study programmes (in cooperation with LEU Faculty of Lithuanian Philology and Mykolas Romeris University)


Humanities, Philology (H04), Comparative Linguistics (H380), General and Comparative Literature, Literature Critique, Literature Theory (H390)




Studentų St. 39, room 231
LT-08106 Vilnius, Lithuania
Tel.: +370 5 275 16 04 / +370 5 279 01 64
Fax: +370 5 272 55 53
E-mail: filologija@leu.lt
Departmental Coordinator for International Relations: Linas Selmistraitis, E-mail: linas.selmistraitis@leu.lt



Address Studentų g. 39, 231 kab.
Phone +370 5  275 06 82
E-mail gintautas.kundrotas@leu.lt
Internal telephone no. 1 224
Address Studentų St. 39, Room 210
Phone +370 5  275 72 58
E-mail linas.selmistraitis@leu.lt
Internal telephone no. 1 778
Dean’s Assistant
Address Studentų g. 39, 256 k.
Phone +370 5  279 01 64
E-mail daiva.kukauskiene@leu.lt
Internal telephone no. 1 281
Dean’s Assistant
Address Studentų g. 39, 231 kab.
Phone +370 5  279 01 64
E-mail birute.smelstoriene@leu.lt
Internal telephone no. 1 281
Address Studentų g. 39, 231 kab.
Phone +370 5  275 16 04
E-mail irena.petkevic@leu.lt
Internal telephone no. 1 239